clothing · Belgium

Ida Volta

Verdict Fully synthetic

Ida Volta fibre breakdown, read to the Throne Standard:These figures come from the 83.8% of Ida Volta’s 80-product catalogue that has been read. The remaining 13 products (16.3%) publish no fibre composition anywhere we can read, so they are counted in the catalogue total but sit outside the percentages above, and are listed in full below.FibreStyles%100% plant (organic/regenerative cotton, linen, hemp)4660.5%plant + semi-synthetic blend11.3%100% semi-synthetic810.5%100% animal1519.7%animal blend67.9%

Instant check Checked 2026-09-26
Plant fibre across the catalogue 66.3%
Throne score · Eco Score
1/5 Fully synthetic
Provisional direct saved-SKU scan: 65 of 78 in-scope rows classified (83.3% coverage), 13 unresolved. Possible fully plant-SKU range 51.3-67.9% remains in score band 2/5. The saved export retains 0 row-level source URLs; this is not full-catalogue verified.
Against clothes
Records scored in clothes2,238
Category average1.0/5
Scores below this one0%
1/5 Fully synthetic
Shop  
Affiliate link. It does not change the score and never has.
No brand pays for a place or a score. Membership funds the scans; affiliate links cover the rest.

The results table

80 read
Every item we read, what its listing said, and what that works out as.
ItemWhat we readValueCounts
Thin wool socks 90% Wool & 10% Organic cotton
Bau00cda top 100% Belgian linen
Eles Pants Linen 100% premium belgian linen
Bau00cda top 100% Belgian linen
Bau00cda top 100% belgian linen
Eixo pants 100% organic canvas cotton 40%
Firme Coat 100% organic canvas cotton 40%
Farda Chore Coat 100% Belgian Linen 40%
Dito Wrapdress 100% Belgian Linen 40%
Dois Wrapdress Red 100% Belgian Linen 40%
See the full table 75 more · free pass gives three reports a month

About Ida Volta

122 of 305 fields held
Everything the scan holds on this record, grouped by subject. Blue bars show how much information is held; they are not positive or negative scores. Fields with nothing behind them are counted, not listed.
15 groups · 122 fields
Features 3 of 5
Feature 1 Ida & Volta makes its womenswear from 100% natural materials that are EU sourced and traceable, using Belgian linen and hemp, Portuguese wool, organic cotton, Tencel made from eucalyptus, recycled cashmere from Italy and handwoven Peace Silk. No polyester is used anywhere in an Ida & Volta garment, whether in the fabric, yarns, buttons, zippers, labels, interfacing or interlining, and the brand fits its pieces with biodegradable corozo vegetable ivory buttons.
Feature 2 Production stays short chain and local for Ida & Volta, with garments sewn and finished by skilled artisans in the brand's own Belgian atelier and other Belgian ateliers, and knitwear designed in Gent and knitted in Antwerp. Ida & Volta works to order to reduce stock and tracks every fibre from the flax fields of Belgium to the final stitch, while its fabrics and processing also span Portugal, Germany, Italy and India.
Feature 3 Ida & Volta prioritises biodegradable mono-materials like 100% organic linen or wool that are easier to recycle, and builds circularity into its natural fibre pieces through mending services, repair over replacement and secondhand resale.
Materials and composition 17 of 29
H3 Q8: Materials (adapts to brand: 100% cotton? / where is the linen from? / hemp?) Where is Ida Volta's linen from?
Plant fibre % 66.3
Animal fibre % 19.7
Fibre Breakdown 40 (51.3%) 100% plant fibre (organic cotton, linen, hemp) | 9 (11.5%) semi-synthetic (viscose, modal, Tencel, bamboo) | 16 (20.5%) animal fibre (wool, silk, down) | 13 (16.7%) no stated composition
Fibre Breakdown (table) FibreStyles%Measure100% plant fibre (organic cotton, linen, hemp)4051.3%Naturalsemi-synthetic (viscose, modal, Tencel, bamboo)911.5%Semi-syntheticanimal fibre (wool, silk, down)1620.5%Animalno stated composition1316.7%Unclear
Other materials: origin Belgian linen from Libeco (family-run mill, Belgium)
Products with a fibre list 71
Products with no fibre list 1
Incomplete compositions count 4
Incomplete composition explanation These products publish an incomplete composition, so the scanner does not guess the missing share.
Plant fibre percent 61.5
Key facts plant materials Cotton, Linen, Hemp
Key facts animal materials Cashmere, Wool, Silk
Key facts chemical materials Tencel
Key facts organic materials Organic Cotton, Organic Linen
Key facts synthetic materials None
Materials used Linen, Cotton, Wool, Hemp
Scan result 16 of 55
Scan note (above product table) Provisional direct saved-SKU scan: 65 of 78 in-scope rows classified (83.3% coverage), 13 unresolved. Possible fully plant-SKU range 51.3-67.9% remains in score band 2/5. The saved export retains 0 row-level source URLs; this is not full-catalogue verified.
Score (1-5) 1
Score label Low verified plant evidence
Total styles scanned 80
Last scanned 2026-08-04
Supply-chain summary Ida & Volta is a Belgian natural-materials label that names its supply chain openly: Belgian linen from family mill Libeco, virgin wool from the Burel factory in Portugal, recycled cashmere from a Tuscan family business, and GOTS-certified organic cotton mainly from Uganda (sometimes Israel). Production is kept short and local, made in Belgium and Portugal, with named makers including the De Vaartkapoen sheltered workshop in Brussels and seamstress Berta Kassal. Ida & Volta offers near farm-to-shelf transparency rare for a small brand.
Sourcing transparency score (1-5) 5
Full catalogue scan? no
Publication status direct_csv_provisional
Method version Throne Standard direct CSV recalculation 2026.09
Worst-case complete result (%) 51.3
Best-case complete result (%) 67.9
Sustainability score 1
Key findings Materials: Linen, Cotton, Wool, Hemp Made in: Ida & Volta garments are produced in small batches in Belgium and Portugal Certifications: Ida & Volta itself displays European Flax certification for its linen and is listed by the COSH! sustainable-fashion coalition and the "Ik koop Belgisch" (Buy Belgian) initiative
Score status verified
SKU scan date 2026-07-11
Health and safety 1 of 3
H3 Q6: Is [Brand] non-toxic / PFAS-free? Is Ida Volta non-toxic and safe for skin?
Certification 6 of 9
H3 Q7: Is [Brand] GOTS / certified? Is Ida Volta certified?
OEKO-TEX® Standard 100 Ida Volta does not hold OEKO-TEX certification.
Other Certifications Ida & Volta displays the COSH, J'achète Belge (Buy Belgian) and Belgian 122-16 textile label logos on its homepage, and states its merino knitwear uses mulesing free merino wool.
Cotton: type / certification GOTS-certified organic cotton
Factory certifications GOTS (organic cotton)
Key facts certifications Ida & Volta itself displays European Flax certification for its linen and is listed by the COSH! sustainable-fashion coalition and the "Ik koop Belgisch" (Buy Belgian) initiative
Sourcing and supply chain 17 of 60
PFAS source idavolta.eu idavolta.eu
Overall: where this info comes from
Traceability level
Cotton: country of origin
Wool: origin + farm + mulesing status
Polyester: virgin or recycled + source
16 more fields · members only Unlock
Ownership and legal entity 2 of 17
Owner Johanna Adriaens is the owner of Ida Volta.
Identity 19 of 27
Brand name Ida Volta
H3 Q1: Is [Brand] sustainable / ethical? Is Ida Volta sustainable and ethical?
Answer 1 Documented facts (independently verifiable from the official site and multiple directories): Ida & Volta is a Belgian brand founded 2019, produces small batches in Belgium and Portugal, uses natural materials (linen, wool, GOTS organic cotton, Tencel, Peace Silk, recycled cashmere), holds European Flax certification, and uses GOTS/OEKO-TEX-certified Belgian linen from Libeco plus mulesing-free mer
H3 Q2: Where is [Brand] made? Where is Ida Volta made?
Answer 2 Ida & Volta garments are produced in small batches in Belgium and Portugal. Independent sources document that Ida & Volta's knitwear is made in Antwerp, some sewing is done via De Vaartkapoen (a sheltered workplace in Brussels), and further making is carried out by Portuguese family-run workshops and a self-employed seamstress, with pattern-making, prototyping and much of the needlework done in-house in Ida & Volta's own studios. The brand states its production takes place in the countries the founders live in (Belgium and Portugal).
H3 Q3: Who owns [Brand]? Who owns Ida Volta?
Answer 3 Ida & Volta (styled "Ida&Volta") is a Belgian independent slow-fashion label founded in 2019 by Johanna Adriaens, and is run as a two-designer studio by Johanna Adriaens (who works from a studio in Ghent) and Laure Persyn (who works from an off-grid studio in Portugal). No parent company or corporate group ownership is documented; the brand presents itself as independently owned and operated by its founding designers.
H3 Q4: Is [Brand] legit / worth it? Is Ida Volta legit and worth it?
Answer 4 Ida & Volta is a real, currently-trading legitimate business. Its official site (idavolta.eu) is an active e-commerce store carrying a 2026 copyright notice and 2026 product photography, offering current garments such as linen shirtdresses and knitwear, and the brand maintains active listings on independent retailers/directories (COSH!, Project Cece, Faire, Close the Loop) and social media (Facebook, LinkedIn) under "Ida&Volta"/idavoltalabel based in Ghent, Belgium.
H3 Q5: Is [Brand] fast fashion? Is Ida Volta fast fashion?
Answer 5 Ida & Volta is a slow, small-batch brand, not fast fashion. It works in small stocks and makes many designs only after an order is placed to avoid overproduction and unnecessary inventory, produces locally in Belgium and Portugal to minimise transport, controls much of its own design, pattern-making and sewing in-house, and positions its pieces as timeless, long-life investments made from natural, traceable and mono-material (more easily recyclable) fabrics.
Answer 6 Certifications: Ida & Volta itself displays European Flax certification for its linen and is listed by the COSH! sustainable-fashion coalition and the "Ik koop Belgisch" (Buy Belgian) initiative. Its documented certifications are largely at the material/supplier level rather than brand-wide: Ida & Volta uses GOTS-certified organic cotton (sourced mainly from Uganda, sometimes Israel), Belgian linen from supplier Libeco (whose linen carries GOTS and OEKO-TEX certification), mulesing-free merino wool from Germany, Peace Silk, and Tencel produced in a closed-loop system in Germany. The Project Cece directory tags Ida & Volta under GOTS and a "Fair Trade" label filter. No evidence was found that Ida & Volta holds a B Corp certification, and no brand-level Fair Trade or GOTS certificate (as opposed to certified input materials) could be independently confirmed..
Answer 7 Ida Volta does not publicly document a recognised textile certification such as GOTS or OEKO-TEX in the sources we checked. What we can confirm is the material itself: our scan of 76 Ida Volta styles found 60.5% is 100% plant fibre, so Ida Volta's natural-fibre standing rests on its composition rather than a certificate.
Methodology note (page footer) How we scan. Every figure on this page comes from the Throne Standard scan: we read the fibre composition off each live product on the brand's own site, style by style, and count only single-fibre plant cloth (cotton, linen, hemp) as natural. Animal fibres such as wool, silk and cashmere and plastic-based synthetics such as polyester, nylon and elastane sit outside the plant-fibre figure, and regenerated fibres such as viscose, bamboo, modal and Tencel are counted as semi-synthetic. Percentages are calculated over the styles that state a composition; anything unlabelled is shown separately.
Semi-synthetic % 11.3
Answer 8 Ida Volta's linen origin is not stated in the product data we scanned, so we cannot confirm where Ida Volta sources its flax.
Contact Email johanna@idavolta.eu
Cotton: named farm / region / co-op Not disclosed to farm level (GOTS-certified organic cotton)
Brand site readable yes
Recycled and circular 1 of 2
Take-back / repair scheme 1 idavolta.eu
Energy, water and land 1 of 2
PFAS / durable water repellent PFAS-free (verified) idavolta.eu
Claims and evidence 10 of 17
Verified by HTT research (brand policy pages)
Verification status
Unresolved products
What this means
Unresolved products (with links)
Excluded items
9 more fields · members only Unlock
Place and access 1 of 1
Location Ida Volta are located in Ghent in Belgium.
Delivery and shipping 3 of 3
Shipping Ida & Volta currently ships its made-to-order garments to addresses in Belgium only, with the brand planning to expand across Europe soon.
Shipping International No. Ida & Volta ships to Belgium only at present.
Shipping Notes Shipping on Ida & Volta orders is a flat 7 euro via Bpost, which covers delivery and packaging, with no free shipping threshold stated. In-stock Ida & Volta items should arrive within 5 days of ordering, while made-to-order pieces can take up to 6 weeks.
Price and commerce 2 of 8
Price tier $$$$
SKU count 80
Further detail 23 of 67
Excerpt Is Ida Volta a sustainable clothing brand? See the real fibre breakdown, plant, animal or synthetic, before you buy.
Country Belgium
POC Ida Volta clothing brand ownership is not identified as people of colour.
LGBT Ida Volta clothing brand ownership is not identified as LGBTQ+.
Woman Owned Ida Volta clothing brand is a woman owned clothing brand.
GOTS Ida Volta is not GOTS certified as a company, but uses GOTS certified organic cotton.
GOTS held by na
1% for the planet Ida Volta clothing brand is not a member of 1% for the Planet.
Vegan Ida Volta clothing brand is not a vegan clothing brand.
Report Post 61289
Dye process Low-impact / GOTS-certified dyes idavolta.eu
Clean & Safe: last checked 2026-07-29
Supplier disclosure Full public list
Products found 80
Last checked 2026-09-26
Products in catalogue 76
Products read 72
Catalogue read % 94.7
How it was read Throne identifies the eligible textile products in Ida Volta's catalogue, inspects each product for published material evidence and requires at least 20 scoreable textile SKUs before publishing a brand score. The score uses only products with enough published material information to classify. Brand non-disclosure and technical read failures are reported separately. Non-textile products are excluded rather than counted as a pass or a fail.
Possible flags 6
Website check page identifies as Ida Volta (checked 2026-08-18)
Coverage method pre dash fix Every product listed in the brand's live catalogue is retrieved and its stated fibre composition read individually - from the product page, the store's own product data and its material labels. A fibre percentage is published only when 100% of the catalogue has been read. Items with no clothing textile (gift cards, packaging, jewellery, homeware) are excluded from the percentage rather than counted as a pass or a fail.
Filed under 21 terms held

Boycott lists

5 lists
Every list we check, and what each one says about this brand and its parent. A brand absent from a list is shown as not listed, which is a result, not a gap.
ListResultWhat the list says
BDS Movement bdsmovement.net · priority targets Not listed Checked 2026-09-12 Not named among the current priority boycott, organic-boycott or pressure targets. Consumer boycott targets named by the Palestinian BDS National Committee. Open the source
Ethical Consumer ethicalconsumer.org · current boycotts Not checked Ongoing consumer boycott calls, with the reason and who called it.
No Thanks No Thanks app Not checked Crowd-maintained list of companies to avoid, checked by barcode.
Boycat Boycat app Not checked Campaign-led list covering brands and their parent companies.
Who Profits whoprofits.org Not checked Companies named in the research database on the occupied territories.
A listing is a fact about the list, not our verdict. It sits beside the scan; it does not move the score.
Free pass · three reports a month
You have the verdict. The working is behind the pass.

The summary and the instant check are free on every record, always. Members also get the results table item by item, the certificates as checked on each register, and what the brand would not disclose.

Start with a free pass £1 a day · £365 a year
What the full scan adds
The results table, item by item
Named mills, factories and suppliers
Every certificate as checked on the register
The source behind each figure, and its date
What the brand would not disclose
Something need changing?
Tell us.

Point at the field and the source. We check it against the register and republish.

Report a correction