Explore / Clothes / Activewear / Base Range
clothing · France

Base Range

Verdict Fully synthetic

Base Range sells clothes with 25.6% natural plant fibre material across 1008 scanned styles. The rest breaks down as 18.7% animal fibre, 48% synthetic and 7.7% semi-synthetic. Every product in the range was read for this figure.

Instant check Checked 2026-09-26
Plant fibre across the catalogue 24.1%
Throne score · Eco Score
1/5 Fully synthetic
PARTIAL SCAN - this score is NOT the whole catalogue. It reflects the 503 garments (92.3% of 546 products) whose fibre composition we could read from the brand's site: 121 are 100% plant fibre, 88 animal, 4 synthetic, 117 semi-synthetic - so 24.1% of what was…
Against clothes
Records scored in clothes2,238
Category average1.0/5
Scores below this one0%
1/5 Fully synthetic
Shop  
Affiliate link. It does not change the score and never has.
No brand pays for a place or a score. Membership funds the scans; affiliate links cover the rest.

The results table

545 read
Every item we read, what its listing said, and what that works out as.
ItemWhat we readValueCounts
Larva Dress 100% Linen
Buckle Overankle Socks 80% Organic cotton 19% polyamide 1% Lycra
Jitsu VEJA x Baserange 54% polyester 46% Recycled polyester Panels: 55% Lacaune Wool 45% Organic Hemp Insole: 61% bio-based E.V.A.(including 49% sugarcane)…
Jitsu VEJA x Baserange 54% polyester 46% Recycled polyester Panels: 100% Leather
Jitsu VEJA x Baserange 54% polyester 46% Recycled polyester Panels: 55% Lacaune Wool 45% Organic Hemp & 100% Leather
Jitsu VEJA x Baserange 54% polyester 46% Recycled polyester Panels: 55% Lacaune Wool 45% Organic Hemp… 40%
Rib Overankle Socks 80% Organic cotton 19% polyamide 1% Elastane 40%
Rib Overankle Socks 80% Organic cotton 19% polyamide 1% Elastane 40%
Pam Bra 91% Organic cotton 9% Elastane 40%
Dadar Dress 100% Wool 40%
See the full table 540 more · free pass gives three reports a month

About Base Range

124 of 309 fields held
Everything the scan holds on this record, grouped by subject. Blue bars show how much information is held; they are not positive or negative scores. Fields with nothing behind them are counted, not listed.
15 groups · 124 fields
Features 3 of 5
Feature 1 Base Range works with natural and recycled fibres, and its production page lists organic cotton, bamboo lyocell, bamboo viscose, silk and wild silk, linen, wool, hemp, Ecovero viscose, modal, recycled fabrics and recycled cashmere. Fibre origins for these Base Range materials include Brazil, India and Egypt for the organic cotton, France for the linen, Australia and Austria for the wool, and China for the bamboo, silk and recycled cashmere.
Feature 2 Every Base Range garment is made through named partner factories in Turkey, Portugal and France. The Turkey factory that Base Range has worked with since 2012 is a family-run mill established in 1949 near Odemis, using a plant-based dyeing process and an on-site water treatment plant whose treated water is described as clean enough that it can be used on a farm. In Portugal, Base Range uses a cluster of factories and knitteries in the Porto area, one of which belongs to SEDEX and another, Replica, which has solar panels and sells surplus energy back to the electric company. The French mill Base Range sources from sits near the Pyrenees and states that 80 percent of its electricity is solar.
Feature 3 Base Range emphasises undyed and naturally dyed fabrics, using a low-temperature reactive dyeing process carried out at 30C rather than 100C, which uses less water and salt. For packaging, Base Range has switched from plastic to crystal paper.
Materials and composition 16 of 29
H3 Q8: Materials (adapts to brand: 100% cotton? / where is the linen from? / hemp?) What is Base Range made of?
Plant fibre % 24.1
Animal fibre % 17.5
Fibre Breakdown 255 (25.6%) 100% plant fibre (organic cotton, linen, hemp) | 479 (48.0%) synthetic (polyester, nylon, elastane) | 77 (7.7%) semi-synthetic (viscose, modal, Tencel, bamboo) | 186 (18.7%) animal fibre (wool, silk, down)
Fibre Breakdown (table) FibreStyles%Measure100% plant fibre (organic cotton, linen, hemp)25525.6%Naturalsynthetic (polyester, nylon, elastane)47948.0%Syntheticsemi-synthetic (viscose, modal, Tencel, bamboo)777.7%Semi-syntheticanimal fibre (wool, silk, down)18618.7%Animal
Other materials: origin Silk and linen sourced from a second-generation family-operated factory in Turkey; bamboo and wool among natural fibres
Products with a fibre list 961
Products with no fibre list 6
Incomplete composition explanation No incomplete percentage compositions were recorded.
Plant fibre percent 24.8
Key facts plant materials Cotton, Linen, Hemp
Key facts animal materials Silk, Wool, Cashmere
Key facts chemical materials Bamboo, Lyocell, Viscose
Key facts organic materials Organic Cotton, Organic Hemp, Organic Linen
Key facts synthetic materials Elastane, Polyamide, Polyester, Acrylic
Materials used Cotton, Silk, Linen, Wool
Scan result 17 of 56
Scan note (above product table) PARTIAL SCAN - this score is NOT the whole catalogue. It reflects the 503 garments (92.3% of 546 products) whose fibre composition we could read from the brand's site: 121 are 100% plant fibre, 88 animal, 4 synthetic, 117 semi-synthetic - so 24.1% of what was read is pure plant fibre. The other 42 products are excluded from the percentage because they publish no readable fibre composition (or their page could not be retrieved); see the Scan Coverage and Unresolved lists. 1 non-clothing items are also excluded. Read it as 'of the products that disclose, this is the split' - not the full range.
Score (1-5) 1
Score label Red
Total styles scanned 546
Last scanned 2026-08-04
Score CSS class htt-score-1
Supply-chain summary Baserange publicly describes production in small family-run factories in Portugal (small towns around Porto for jersey and leather) and Turkey (Odemis near Izmir for woven pieces, and a second-generation family factory for silk and linen), and emphasises organic cotton, natural fibres, undyed fabrics, renewable energy and rainwater-fed natural dyeing. It gives clear cities and factory descriptions and material types, but does not name individual factories or spinners in a formal supplier list, and does not disclose fibre farm origins.
Sourcing transparency score (1-5) 4
Full catalogue scan? no
Reason / scan status Direct saved-SKU scan recalculation: all 1021 in-scope CSV rows carry a classification; 253 are fully plant fibre. The saved export retains 0 row-level source URLs. This is a CSV-derived catalogue result, not a fresh source-URL verification.
Publication status direct_csv_complete
Method version Throne Standard direct CSV recalculation 2026.09
Worst-case complete result (%) 24.8
Best-case complete result (%) 24.8
Sustainability score 1
Key findings 25.6% plant fibre across 1008 scanned styles 48% synthetic in the range Materials: Cotton, Silk, Linen, Wool Made in: Base Range garments are made in Europe through a small, named network of family-run producers that the brand publicly documents on its Production page: a family-run integrated silk producer in Odemis, Turkey (established 1949, making fabric and garments for Base Range since 2012); a cluster of small factories and knitteries in the Porto area of Portugal (including the family-run Pereira factory for underwear/fine fabrics and Replica for loungewear and heavier pieces); and the family-owned Missegle mill near the Pyrenees in France for socks and pullovers Certifications: Per Base Range's own Production page, the certifications and standards it uses across its supply chain include GOTS (organic textiles), OEKO-TEX Standard 100, GRS (Global Recycled Standard), OCS 100 (Organic Content Standard), FSC/PEFC (forest management for cellulosic fibres), EU Ecolabel, REACH compliance, and Woolmark / SustainaWOOL for wool
SKU scan date 2026-07-11
Health and safety 1 of 3
H3 Q6: Is [Brand] non-toxic / PFAS-free? Is Base Range non-toxic and safe for skin?
Certification 6 of 9
H3 Q7: Is [Brand] GOTS / certified? Is Base Range certified?
OEKO-TEX® Standard 100 Base Range is not OEKO-TEX certified as a company, but its fabric is OEKO-TEX Standard 100 certified.
Other Certifications Base Range lists further per-material certifications: its organic cotton is also OCS 100 certified, its wool carries Woolmark and SustainaWOOL, its bamboo lyocell and viscose are FSC certified, its Ecovero viscose and modal hold EU Ecolabel, FSC and PEFC, and its recycled fabrics are GRS certified.
Cotton: type / certification Organic cotton (undyed used across many styles to cut dye/energy use)
Factory certifications Fair-trade working conditions and renewable energy cited at Porto factory; supply certifications checked at Turkish factory; specific certificates not named
Key facts certifications Per Base Range's own Production page, the certifications and standards it uses across its supply chain include GOTS (organic textiles), OEKO-TEX Standard 100, GRS (Global Recycled Standard), OCS 100 (Organic Content Standard), FSC/PEFC (forest management for cellulosic fibres), EU Ecolabel, REACH compliance, and Woolmark / SustainaWOOL for wool. These are the standards named by the brand;
Sourcing and supply chain 19 of 64
Take-back source
Overall: where this info comes from
Traceability level
Cotton: country of origin
Wool: origin + farm + mulesing status
18 more fields · members only Unlock
Ownership and legal entity 2 of 17
Owner Marie-Louise Mogensen is the owner of Base Range.
Identity 21 of 28
Brand name Base Range
H3 Q1: Is [Brand] sustainable / ethical? Is Base Range sustainable and ethical?
Answer 1 Base Range is poor on materials: our scan of all 1008 styles found 25.6% plant fibre (48% synthetic, 18.7% animal). Documented facts (from Base Range's own site): the specific named factories in Turkey, Portugal and France; the fibre origins by country; the list of certification standards used (GOTS, OEKO-TEX 100, GRS, OCS 100, FSC/PEFC, EU Ecolabel, Woolmark/SustainaWOOL); use of natural dyes (woad, madder, myrobalan, etc.) and a low-temperature reactive dyeing process; and an undyed collection option. Marketi
H3 Q2: Where is [Brand] made? Where is Base Range made?
Answer 2 Base Range garments are made in Europe through a small, named network of family-run producers that the brand publicly documents on its Production page: a family-run integrated silk producer in Odemis, Turkey (established 1949, making fabric and garments for Base Range since 2012); a cluster of small factories and knitteries in the Porto area of Portugal (including the family-run Pereira factory for underwear/fine fabrics and Replica for loungewear and heavier pieces); and the family-owned Missegle mill near the Pyrenees in France for socks and pullovers. Raw fibres are sourced internationally (e.g. organic cotton from Brazil/India/Egypt, linen from France/Belgium, wool from Australia/Austria) but garment manufacturing is concentrated in Turkey, Portugal and France.
H3 Q3: Who owns [Brand]? Who owns Base Range?
Answer 3 Base Range (styled "Baserange") is an independently owned French-Danish label founded in 2012 by Danish designer Marie-Louise Mogensen and Paris-based co-founder Blandine Legait, who met in Paris around 2009. It remains founder-led and independent, with no parent company on record; the brand's own About page confirms the 2012 founding and its origins as a women's underwear line before broadening into a full ageless everyday collection. Base Range operates from a French-Danish base (frequently described as Copenhagen/Paris rooted).
H3 Q4: Is [Brand] legit / worth it? Is Base Range legit and worth it?
Answer 4 Base Range is a real, currently-trading legitimate clothing business. As of July 2026 its official site (baserange.com) is live and selling, prices in EUR with active Autumn 2026 and Spring/Summer 2026 collections, and it is stocked by major independent and luxury retailers including SSENSE (carrying the FW26 collection), Assembly New York and Oroboro Store. This is the clothing/underwear brand, distinct from any same-name businesses in other industries.
H3 Q5: Is [Brand] fast fashion? Is Base Range fast fashion?
Answer 5 Base Range is a slow/small-batch label, not fast fashion. It works with a limited network of small, named family-run factories chosen for quality over quantity, uses natural and recycled fibres, offers a permanent undyed "Core" collection, and publishes an unusually transparent breakdown of its factories, fibres, dyes and certifications (including worker portrait interviews). It produces seasonal collections at premium price points and emphasises long-term producer relationships rather than high-volume seasonal turnover, all consistent with a slow-fashion model.
Answer 6 Base Range is a mixed bag for non-toxicity: 25.6% of its range is plant fibre that breathes and biodegrades, with 48% plastic-based synthetics that can shed microplastics. Certifications: Per Base Range's own Production page, the certifications and standards it uses across its supply chain include GOTS (organic textiles), OEKO-TEX Standard 100, GRS (Global Recycled Standard), OCS 100 (Organic Content Standard), FSC/PEFC (forest management for cellulosic fibres), EU Ecolabel, REACH compliance, and Woolmark / SustainaWOOL for wool. These are the standards named by the brand; a full independent audit of each certificate scope was not performed here. No B Corp certification and no Fair Trade certification are documented for Base Range (the "fair trade working conditions" language that circulates refers to descriptive claims about its Porto factory, not a Fair Trade certification). European Flax certification is not documented, though the brand states its linen is sourced from France and Belgium..
Answer 7 Base Range does not publicly document a recognised textile certification such as GOTS or OEKO-TEX in the sources we checked. What we can confirm is the material itself: our scan of 223 Base Range styles found 30.6% is 100% plant fibre, so Base Range's natural-fibre standing rests on its composition rather than a certificate.
Methodology note (page footer) How we scan. Every figure on this page comes from the Throne Standard scan: we read the fibre composition off each live product on the brand's own site, style by style, and count only single-fibre plant cloth (cotton, linen, hemp) as natural. Animal fibres such as wool, silk and cashmere and plastic-based synthetics such as polyester, nylon and elastane sit outside the plant-fibre figure, and regenerated fibres such as viscose, bamboo, modal and Tencel are counted as semi-synthetic. Percentages are calculated over the styles that state a composition; anything unlabelled is shown separately.
Synthetic % 0.8
Semi-synthetic % 23.3
Answer 8 Our scan of all 1008 Base Range styles found 25.6% of the range is 100% plant fibre, with 18.7% animal fibre, 48% synthetic and 7.7% semi-synthetic. The most common fibres in the Base Range styles we read were cotton and silk. That composition is the measurable fact behind what Base Range is made of, so check the specific Base Range label for any individual piece.
Contact Email info@baserange.com
Cotton: named farm / region / co-op Not disclosed
Dye house: name + country Largely undyed; one supplier uses natural plant-based dyes and collects rainwater for dyeing (facility not individually named)
Brand site readable yes
Recycled and circular 1 of 2
Take-back / repair scheme 1 baserange.com
Energy, water and land 1 of 2
PFAS / durable water repellent PFAS-free (verified) baserange.com
Claims and evidence 8 of 17
Verified by HTT research (brand policy pages)
Verification status
What this means
Excluded items
Why excluded
Excluded items
7 more fields · members only Unlock
Place and access 1 of 1
Location Base Range are located in France.
Delivery and shipping 3 of 3
Shipping Free shipping is offered on all Base Range orders above 150 EUR, with per-region thresholds of roughly 250 USD in the US and 150 GBP in the UK.
Shipping International Base Range ships internationally to regions including the US, UK, EU, Denmark, Switzerland, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Canada and the Rest of World.
Shipping Notes Delivery of your Base Range order takes around 2 to 4 working days in the US and 3 to 5 days in the UK and EU, with rates such as 12 USD in the US, 5 GBP Service Point or 7 GBP Home Delivery in the UK, and 5 EUR Service Point or 8 EUR Home Delivery in the EU. Import duties are included for most listed regions, though US sales tax and Canadian provincial tax are calculated at checkout, and Base Range returns or exchanges must be requested within 14 calendar days of receiving the order.
Price and commerce 1 of 8
Price tier $$$
Further detail 24 of 65
Excerpt Is Base Range a sustainable clothing brand? See the real fibre breakdown, plant, animal or synthetic, before you buy.
Country France
POC Base Range clothing brand ownership is not identified as people of colour.
LGBT Base Range was founded in 2012 by Marie-Louise Mogensen and Blandine de Verdelhan.
Woman Owned Base Range clothing brand is a woman owned clothing brand.
GOTS Base Range is not GOTS certified as a company, but its organic cotton fabric is GOTS certified.
GOTS held by na
OEKO-TEX held by material_supplier
1% for the planet Base Range clothing brand is not a member of 1% for the Planet.
Vegan Base Range clothing brand is not a vegan clothing brand.
Report Post 61161
Dye process Low-impact / GOTS-certified dyes baserange.com
Clean & Safe: last checked 2026-07-29
Supplier disclosure Partial
Products found 971
Last checked 2026-09-26
Products in catalogue 967
Products read 967
Catalogue read % 100
How it was read Throne identifies the eligible textile products in Base Range's catalogue, inspects each product for published material evidence and requires at least 20 scoreable textile SKUs before publishing a brand score. The score uses only products with enough published material information to classify. Brand non-disclosure and technical read failures are reported separately. Non-textile products are excluded rather than counted as a pass or a fail.
Possible flags 92
Website check page identifies as Base Range (checked 2026-08-18)
Coverage method pre dash fix Every product listed in the brand's live catalogue is retrieved and its stated fibre composition read individually - from the product page, the store's own product data and its material labels. A fibre percentage is published only when 100% of the catalogue has been read. Items with no clothing textile (gift cards, packaging, jewellery, homeware) are excluded from the percentage rather than counted as a pass or a fail.
Filed under 32 terms held

Boycott lists

5 lists
Every list we check, and what each one says about this brand and its parent. A brand absent from a list is shown as not listed, which is a result, not a gap.
ListResultWhat the list says
BDS Movement bdsmovement.net · priority targets Not listed Checked 2026-09-12 Not named among the current priority boycott, organic-boycott or pressure targets. Consumer boycott targets named by the Palestinian BDS National Committee. Open the source
Ethical Consumer ethicalconsumer.org · current boycotts Not checked Ongoing consumer boycott calls, with the reason and who called it.
No Thanks No Thanks app Not checked Crowd-maintained list of companies to avoid, checked by barcode.
Boycat Boycat app Not checked Campaign-led list covering brands and their parent companies.
Who Profits whoprofits.org Not checked Companies named in the research database on the occupied territories.
A listing is a fact about the list, not our verdict. It sits beside the scan; it does not move the score.

Scored elsewhere

The exact figure each directory publishes for this record, on its own scale. They rate brand policy; we read the product.
DirectoryTheir scoreWhat it measures
Good On You Good 1-5: We Avoid / Not Good Enough / It's a Start / Good / Great Rates brand policy and published commitments, not the product. We checked 2026-08-24.
Free pass · three reports a month
You have the verdict. The working is behind the pass.

The summary and the instant check are free on every record, always. Members also get the results table item by item, the certificates as checked on each register, and what the brand would not disclose.

Start with a free pass £1 a day · £365 a year
What the full scan adds
The results table, item by item
Named mills, factories and suppliers
Every certificate as checked on the register
The source behind each figure, and its date
What the brand would not disclose
Something need changing?
Tell us.

Point at the field and the source. We check it against the register and republish.

Report a correction